Rick Warren’s Inaugural Invocation

Rabbi Burt Visotzky, a professor at the Jewish Theological Seminary, the flagship institution of Conservative Judaism, has the best comment on this:

"For me as a Jew, hearing the name of a first-century rabbi isn’t the worst thing in the world, but it’s not my God."    Yahoo News

I like his comment and agree, it also is not my god.

But I really like that he used "it" rather than "he".  Perhaps he meant something different than my interpretation of “it”, but to me “it” (god) is not an entity but just a concept and not a very good one either.

Leave a Reply

